Free Falling

Posted: June 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

A few weeks ago my incredible wife gave me a very special gift in celebration of my seminary graduation, Fathers Day and my birthday.  She arranged for me to do something I have always wanted to do but never had the chance.  I went skydiving!  Connected by a few straps and carabiners to another man I barely knew, we flew in a small Cessna aircraft to 12,000 feet on a beautiful partly cloudy day.  One other man, who was a former Army Airborne Ranger, was jumping with us.  At 12,000 feet, the former Airborne Ranger opened the door of the plane and I felt the chilly cold air above the clouds sweep into the plane.  He got out on the wing and motioned for me to slide out to the edge of the plane. This was it.  There was no turning back now.  Before I knew it, I was out of the plane free-falling to the earth.  My 30 minute crash course instructed me to kick my legs back and arch my neck and put my arms out as if I was flying.  This position makes your waist the center of gravity and allows you to free fall in a spread-eagle fashion facing the earth below.  After a couple of 360 degree flips out of the plane, I was looking at the earth below, with my arms spread out wide, falling at 120 miles per hour…yes, it was a rush!  Words simply can’t describe this feeling.  Out of a sheer adrenaline rush, I was screaming to the top of my lungs and could not hear a thing because of the speed at which I was falling through the sky.  I was completely aware of the guy strapped to my back and I had confidence in him as an experienced jumper.  With my goggles pressed firmly to my face I could see everything clearly and I was truly flying!  Then, in the distance, I saw the Army Airborne Ranger who jumped with us.  He was flying towards us in what seemed like slow motion.  I reached out my hand to him and he gave me a mid-air high-five and then he was gone.  It was surreal to think that I was meeting and greeting people at 8000 feet while falling out of the sky at 120 miles per hour.  I felt like I was flying like an eagle, it was so peaceful…and then it happened. I felt the tightness of my harness as the parachute opened and everything slowed down drastically.  Suddenly, I could hear my tandem’s voice saying “we’re under canopy now, you can relax”.  We then begin to float slowly around 5000 feet weaving in and out of clouds, looking at the beautiful scenery from a true bird’s eye view.  For about five minutes, we slowly drifted toward our landing destination.  I even got to steer the parachute a few times.  We finally landed softly, almost as if I was sitting down in a recliner in my living room.  It was everything I had dreamed of and more.

As I have reflected on this once in a lifetime adventure, I am reminded on how similar it is to our life in Christ.  There first comes a point where you decide to make the leap!  And so you jump into the arms of Jesus, your Lord and Savior, trusting Him with your life and understanding He has a plan for you.  This plan will include some flips, turns, screams, and people we will meet along the way.  There will be times when you are fast and furious and there will be times when you will float along and enjoy the scenery.  But the entire time, God has your back…not just your back, but also your front, your side, your top and your bottom. And ultimately, He has a landing destination and a purpose for your life. And don’t think you are in control…you’re not…He is.  Trust in Him and enjoy the ride!  Follow His instructions and they will give you life and life more abundantly!  The little cliché, “let go and let God” came to life for me on that day and reminded me to kick back and spread my arms wide and live with abandon for Jesus.  Are you free-falling for Jesus?

Leave a Reply

