I want to be a father like Job

Posted: January 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

We all know the story of Job found in the Bible.  We often hear the phrase, “the patience of Job” referring to Job’s perseverance through all of his trials.  We also hear a great deal about the way Job continued to praise God through his anguish as he stated, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;  may the name of the Lord be praised.” (Job 1:21, ESV).  Numerous sermons and volumes of Bible studies have been  written about this interesting book but as I have been reading it lately, I was struck by a often overlooked verse in chapter 1. This verse points to what kind of father Job was to his children.  The verse challenged me in what I am doing for my own four children.  In the prologue of Job it states in verses 4-5, “His sons used to hold feasts in their homes on their birthdays, and they would invite their three sisters to eat and drink with them. When a period of feasting had run its course, Job would make arrangements for them to be purified. Early in the morning he would sacrifice a burnt offering for each of them, thinking, “Perhaps my children have sinned and cursed God in their hearts.” This was Job’s regular custom.” (Job 1:4-5, ESV)  That last phrase really convicted me.  It was Job’s “regular custom” to sacrifice a burnt offering for his children.  I assume Job’s children were of  adult age and I am guessing this was what Job had been doing for years as he raised his children, and here he is doing the same thing, even into their adult years.  The scripture even indicates that Job perhaps thought that just maybe on that day, his children had sinned and thus he sacrificed a burnt offering on their behalf.  I think of the effort it took Job to physically sacrifice the burnt offering on a regular basis…the killing of the animal, the blood, the stench of the animal, the mess, the time.  Yes, raising children is sometimes like that…bloody knees, foul smells, huge messes, and yes, lots of time.  This regular custom of Job reminded me of how important it is for me as a father to consistently pray for my children.  I want to be a father like Job.

Leave a Reply

