Let’s talk about doctrine

Posted: October 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Most of you know that I was raised in a Pentecostal Holiness church.  My grandfather was a PH pastor for many years and my mother and father raised me and my 3 siblings in the PH church.  I cherish the foundations taught to me by that church. It was there that I accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior.  At age 19, I met the love of my life and she was a Baptist…a southern Baptist.  As we started attending her church I begin to hear many differences from what I was taught in the PH church.  At 19-20 years old, I was forming my own ideas and asking better questions about my faith.  There were many doctrinal differences that I struggled with between the PH church and the Baptist church.  It forced me to dive into the scriptures myself and try to discern what God’s word was really saying.  It was a great time of spiritual growth for me and I decided to join the Baptist church with my soon-to-be wife, LeAnn.  I will never forget what my mother said when I reluctantly told her I was about to join the Baptist church.  She simply said, “David, we did not raise you to be a Pentecostal Holiness church member, we raised you to be a Christian.”  Wow, what wisdom!!

Now that I am a pastor in a Southern Baptist Church and spend a great deal of time teaching doctrine and theology, I thought I would spend the next few blogs discussing some things I learned in that process of growth.  These discussions are in no way an attempt to bash one denomination or another and it is certainly not an attempt to say that Southern Baptists have it all right.  Instead, I hope these discussions will give you the impetus to dive into the scriptures like I did and discover afresh and anew why it is you believe what you believe.  So take a look at this blog every Thursday as we see what the Bible says about the Holy Spirit, speaking in tongues, eternal security, and several other doctrines that have been confused over the years.  I welcome your comments, suggestions, and yes, even your disagreements…only one ground rule…let’s let scripture speak and not our own preconceived ideas or thoughts.

Leave a Reply

