Running on Empty

Posted: June 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well, I missed last week’s blog because of time constraints.  Ironically, many of my past blogs have been about balance and being more effective with your time.  So here I am again, struggling to even write this post.  I’m running on empty!  No, this is not a complaint session, but I hope it is a learning moment for those running on empty like me.  There are always seasons of your life that you tend to run on empty, going from task to task or event to event.  I could spend a paragraph or two describing the stress of my week (preparing a sermon for Sunday, doing a wedding on Saturday, writing a 25 page paper for a class I’m taking that is due on Sunday, taking kids to soccer practice, fixing a leak in house…you get the picture) but that would just turn into a complaint session and not be worth the read.  I do know everyone has a story like that…many are running on empty.  So what is the solution…total dependence on God.  God is teaching me so much in this area…He is teaching me that I can cast all my cares upon Him, for He cares for me (1 Peter 5:7).  He is teaching me that I don’t have to be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving,  I can present my requests to God (Philippians 4:6).  Here’s the lesson: If you are running on empty, don’t be anxious, give thanks for your stress and cast your cares upon God.  He cares for you!

Leave a Reply

