God doesn’t deal with fractions

Posted: April 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

When I was in the 6th grade, my teacher, Mr. Rogers, taught me a lesson about fractions that I will never forget.  We were learning about dividing fractions in math class and Mr. Rogers picked me up, turned me upside-down, and held me by my legs in front of the entire class.  He then said that when you divide a fractions you “do a David” on it.  I never liked math very much but I never forgot that rule.

If you don’t like fractions, there is some good news…God doesn’t either.  God only likes whole numbers.  All throughout the Bible you can see scriptures that use words like “all” or “whole”.  Simply put, God doesn’t deal with fractions.  In so many self-help books who can find how you are supposed to balance, finances, family, career, physical health, intelligence, spiritually, and social time.  This all sounds good but did you see what just happened?  Do you see how God was placed as a  “part” of the equation, a “fraction”.  God doesn’t want to be a part of your life or a category in your life. He wants to be your life!  He wants all of you!

Leave a Reply

